Life as an Expat, Living in Korea, Other Interests

The Ulsan Human Rights 10K

This morning I completed my first ever officical 10 kilometer race! Based on the name of the event, the purpose of the run was to raise awareness of some sort for human rights issues…but since all the literature and speeches were in Korean I have no clue beyond that. The point is, I did it!

The whole thing was organized really well. From tents where you could check your bags or extra layers, to well-marked signs and people telling you which way to go, to plenty of water stands along the way, they thought of everything and more, just like I would expect from a race back home. Best of all, though, was the jazzercise/group stretching session that we had before the start, which consisted of everyone grapevining, clapping and lunging all in perfect Korean unison (apparently this is a standard part of any race day in the country!).

During the race I enjoyed a a flat course along the river, occasionally winding through a bamboo forest. Race officials and random passersby alike cheered me on, saying, “Why-ting!” (the equivalent to “Let’s go!” “Good job!” or “You can do it!”). The cool fall temperatures made for perfect running conditions as well! My official time was 41 minutes and 38 seconds, which isn’t too shabby. Roughly 6:45/mile pace!

After the race I collected my finisher’s goodie bag, which contained a few snacks and a nice medal. Then I waited for my friend, Jang, to finish the half marathon course. Presently, I am freshly showered and sitting on my bed, where I plan to stay for the rest of the day!

To find out about other races going on throughout Korea, check out the list on this site. There seems to be at least one race going on every weekend, so there’s no shortage of options! Registration for today’s race cost me only $30, and that included a cool light-weight long-sleeve running shirt, my bib and the finisher’s goodie bag (though I did have to ask my co-teacher to help me navigate the race’s website, as there was no English option).

Next on the list is a half marathon of some kind, maybe the race in Yangsan (about 40 minutes from Ulsan) in early December. Why-ting!

IMG_1567

Discussion

5 thoughts on “The Ulsan Human Rights 10K

  1. Good for you! it looks like you’re proud of your accomplishment, and you should be! Isn’t it great when you test yourself, and stretch your limitations, and succeed. Good job.

    Like

    Posted by Steve | November 2, 2014, 9:55 AM
  2. Awesome!! That looks like so much fun! I can’t wait to hear about it in person. Oh wait, we don’t have a date planned. I’ll have to work on that. Wah wah.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Geo Rutherford | November 2, 2014, 9:54 PM
  3. Congratulations, Nathan!! 😀 That’s awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by expatwoo | November 8, 2014, 7:57 PM

Leave a Reply

Join 337 other followers

Follow me on Instagram!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Follow Korealizations on Twitter!

Archives

Find other great blogs on:

Teach Abroad through Reach To Teach:

Reach To Teach helps you find an ESL teaching job with a reputable school that meets our standards for high quality English teacher positions in destinations all over the world.

